Tip Tuesday – Deleting and Disabling Users

Tip Tuesday – Deleting and Disabling Users

Welcome back to Tip Tuesday! This week we will be talking about the tips and tricks to deleting or disabling users.

By disabling a user, I am referring to the ‘Disable user from logging on’ option in the user record shown below:

Some companies may find this useful because they still have all the employee’s information, but the employee will be unable to login to the system.

*It is important to note that even though a user is disabled, they are still considered a user for billing purposes. Therefore, if the user is not returning to work for you, they should be removed to free up space for more users.

Once a user is no longer working for your company, you will want to delete them from the account as soon as you can. To do this, you simply go to the user record and select the red X by their name. However, when you select this option there will be a pop up (see below):

This means that if an employee is scheduled for future time blocks at the moment of deletion, you have one of two options: you can decide to remove every time block that this employee is scheduled for in the future, or you can choose to leave the time blocks open so that another employee can fill them. Keep in mind, that these options will only affect future time blocks. Time blocks from the past will be left with the employee’s name and will be untouched. Upon selecting one of these options the employee will be deleted. One of the great things about WorkSchedule.Net is because this employee’s past time blocks will not be affected, if you run an hours report or cost report, the deleted employee will still show up in the report!

That’s all for this week’s Tip Tuesday post! Check back next week for more tips and tricks for using WorkSchedule.Net!